I am assuming that by the time people read this they will know about the tragedy at Fort Hood today.  I have a number of close friends and family in the military and I hold all of them very close to my heart.  I have one very close friend, Peter, who is currently stationed at Fort Hood.  As soon as I heard the news I got on my cell phone and tried calling Peter.  I wanted to know that he was okay and to hear his voice on the other end of the line.  The phone started ringing and then the line went dead.  I was confused and began to worry.  All I want was to hear that Peter is okay and I could not get a phone call through to him.

As soon as I walked in the door of my house I rushed to the television and turned it on.  I sat and watched the news.  A spokesperson for the army came on and asked people to stop using their cell phones to call loved ones and to start text messaging because the cell phone lines were being overwhelmed with all the phone calls.  The army wanted to save cell phone use for rescue efforts.

During tragedies the first thing people want to do is get on the phone and get ahold of the people they care about.  Cell phone networks just become overwhelmed with the amount of phone calls being placed all at once.  Even at big events, like the presidential inauguration, cell phone networks know that there will be trouble.

With all the money spent on cell phones, I would hope that when a tragedy like the one at Fort Hood happens I would be able to use my cell phone without concern.  I guess that is something that we can hope for in the future.

On one last note, my thoughts are with the family and friends of those killed or injured today.

